Who’s Retiring from Congress? (2019 Edition)


The retirement announcements are starting to flow in.

There are a number of Senators and Representatives who are not running for re-election or won’t be seeking re-election because they’re running for a different position (noted with an asterisk). Notably, the Republicans only have 13 women in the House, and two of them have already announced their retirement.

Here are the retiring members of Congress (in state alphabetical order).

U.S. HOUSE – Republicans

Bradley Byrne (AL-01)* Running for Senate

Martha Roby (AL-02)

Paul Cook (CA-08)* Running for a county seat

Francis Rooney (FL-19)

George Holding (GA-02)

Rob Woodall (GA-07)

Tom Graves (GA-14)

John Shimkus (IL-15)

Susan Brooks (IN-05)

Roger Marshall (KS-01)* Running for Senate

Paul Mitchell (MI-10)

Greg Gianforte (MT-AL)* Running for governor

Pete King (NY-02)

Chris Collins (NY-27)

Greg Walden (OR-02)

Mike Conaway (TX-11)

Mac Thornberry (TX-13)

Bill Flores (TX-17)

Pete Olson (TX-22)

Will Hurd (TX-23)

Kenny Marchant (TX-24)

Rob Bishop (UT-01)

James Sensenbrenner (WI-05)

Sean Duffy (WI-07)

U.S. HOUSE – Democrats

Katie Hill (CA-25)

Susan Davis (CA-53)

Tulsi Gabbard (HI-02)* Running for President

Dave Loebsack (IA-02)

Pete Visclosky (IN-01)

Joseph Kennedy III (MA-04)* Running for Senate

Ben Ray Lujan (NM-03)* Running for Senate

Jose Serrano (NY-15)

Nita Lowey (NY-17)

Denny Heck (WA-10)

U.S. SENATE – Republicans

Johnny Isakson (GA)

Pat Roberts (KS)

Lamar Alexander (TN)

Mike Enzi (WY)

U.S. SENATE – Democrats

Tom Udall (NM)


This post was last updated on December 6. 

Enjoy this post? Get more like it!
Subscribe Today
Follow me on Twitter at @DHStokyo
Political Charge on Facebook

Click to share:

Categories: Uncategorized

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply