Who’s Retiring From Congress?


There are quite a number of Senators and Representatives who are either not running for re-election or running for a different position (noted with an asterisk). Here are the retiring members of Congress (in state alphabetical order) followed by how their particular district voted in the presidential election, for context.

U.S. SENATE – Republicans

Jeff Flake, AZ (+3 Trump)

Thad Cochran, MS (+17 Trump)

Bob Corker, TN (+26 Trump)

Orrin Hatch, UT (+17 Trump)

U.S. SENATE – Democrats

(No retirements announced)


Martha McSally*, AZ-02 (+5 Clinton)

Ed Royce, CA-39 (+8 Clinton)

Darrell Issa, CA-49 (+7 Trump)

Ron DeSantis*, FL-06 (+17 Trump)

Tom Rooney, FL-17 (+27 Trump)

Ileana Ros-Lehtinen, FL-27 (+19 Clinton)

Raul Labrador*, ID-01 (+38 Trump)

Todd Rokita*, IN-04 (+34 Trump)

Luke Messer*, IN-06 (+40 Trump)

Lynn Jenkins, KS-02 (+18 Trump)

Dave Trott, MI-11 (+4 Trump)

Gregg Harper, MS-03 (+24 Trump)

Frank LoBiondo, NJ-02 (+4 Trump)

Rodney Frelinghuysen, NJ-11 (+1 Trump)

Steve Pearce*, NM-02 (+10 Trump)

Pat Tiberi, OH-12 (+11 Trump)

Jim Renacci*, OH-16 (+16 Trump)

Ryan Costello, PA-06 (Recently modified)

Patrick Meehan, PA-07 (+2 Clinton)

Bill Shuster, PA-09 (+42 Trump)

Lou Barletta*, PA-11 (+23 Trump)

Charlie Dent, PA-15 (+7 Trump)

Trey Gowdy, SC-04 (+25 Trump)

Kristi Noem*, SD-at large (+29 Trump)

John Duncan Jr, TN-02 (+35 Trump)

Diane Black*, TN-06 (+48 Trump)

Marsha Blackburn*, TN-07 (+39 Trump)

Ted Poe, TX-02 (+9 Trump)

Sam Johnson, TX-03 (+14 Trump)

Jeb Hensarling, TX-05 (+28 Trump)

Joe Barton, TX-06 (+12 Trump)

Lamar Smith, TX-21 (+10 Trump)

Blake Farenthold, TX-27 (+23 Trump)

Bob Goodlatte, VA-06 (+24 Trump)

Dave Reichert, WA-08 (+3 Clinton)

Evan Jenkins*, WV-03 (+49 Trump)


Kyrsten Sinema*, AZ-09 (+16 Clinton)

Jared Polis*, CO-02 (+21 Clinton)

Colleen Hanabusa*, HI-01 (+32 Clinton)

Luis Gutierrez, IL-04 (+68 Clinton)

Niki Tsongas, MA-03 (+22 Clinton)

Sander Levin, MI-09 (+7 Clinton)

John Conyers, MI-13 (+60 Clinton)

Carol Shea-Porter, NH-01 (+1 Trump)

Michelle Lujan Grisham*, NM-01 (+16 Clinton)

Jacky Rosen*, NV-03 (+1 Trump)

Ruben Kihuen, NV-04 (+4 Clinton)

John Delaney*, MD-06 (+15 Clinton)

Tim Walz*, MN-01 (+15 Trump)

Rick Nolan, MN-08 (+15 Trump)

Bob Brady, PA-01 (+61 Clinton)

Beto O’Rourke*, TX-16 (+40 Clinton)

Gene Green, TX-29 (+45 Clinton)

Get more posts like this one by following our blog. You can also like us on Facebook at Political Charge.




Categories: Explainers

Tags: , , , ,

1 reply


  1. See Tokyo Sand’s Comprehensive List of Who’s Retiring from Congress – One Thing You Can Do

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: